This building has a rich history.
The former residence of metropolitans of Bukovina and Dalmatia in Chernivtsi is located on the street kotsyubinskogo 2. The residence was built 18 years, this is in Chernivtsi built 3 factories for the manufacture of bricks, tiles and shingles. In 2011, the session of the world heritage Committee of UNESCO took the decision on inclusion in the list of world cultural heritage of the Central building of the University — the former residence of metropolitans of Bukovina and Dalmatia.
The architectural ensemble of the former Residence of the Orthodox metropolitans of Bukovyna and Dalmatia metropolitans was built on the site of the old Bishop’s house in 1864-1882. Today it is Chernivtsi national University. Yuriy Fedkovych. This unique architectural ensemble was born thanks to the efforts of Bishop Eugene Gakman. In 1863 he won the Austrian Emperor permission for the construction of a new spacious residence worthy of the capital of Bukovina. The following year, immediately after the consecration of the Cathedral of the Holy spirit, Bishop Hakman has laid the cornerstone in the Foundation of the future residence.
One master put 100 bricks in a day. The design of the architectural ensemble performed by the famous Czech scientist, architect, academician Josef Hlavka. He designed an unconventional complex of buildings in the eclectic style with a predominance of elements of Byzantine and Romanesque styles. This project has repeatedly won prizes in competitions known architects and was particularly marked at the world exhibition in Paris. The composition of the ensemble is quite complicated, but there is clarity of planning. It consists of three monumental buildings-buildings: the main, theological Seminary with the Three Saints Church and the presbytery.
In the main building now houses the administration of the University, to look at several rooms, you can book a tour (20 USD.). In the main building (now the Central V hull, which houses the rector and faculty of foreign languages) was the abode of the Metropolitan with spacious apartments, where he worked and rested, and luxurious rooms, where he arranged an audience for the distinguished guests and where there was a diocesan meeting. In the corner of the left wing of the corps is the home Church of Bishop – chapel of Ivan of Suceava, which, in fact, began the construction of the entire Residence.
The marble hall.
Among the facilities of the main building with its beauty and grandeur impresses the Synodal hall, one of the most beautiful in Europe. He was decorated with marble (hence its current name – Marble) and fitted with side galleries of the columns that supported the decorated with wooden ornamentation of the ceiling. The impression of unearthly grandeur intensified and corridors with marble mosaic floors and painted ceilings in the form of domes. Unfortunately, in 1944 the Synod hall was damaged by fire. The fire damaged not only the interiors but also killed the Synodal library, which contained a unique early printed books and archives. The current view of the Marble hall is only a copy created by restorers.
On the left side of the entrance to the Residence VI in the present building of the University were two theological schools. One of them was a Seminary, established in Chernivtsi in 1828 It occupied the second floor of the building and the first floor on the initiative of Metropolitan was transferred to the needs of the Greek-Orthodox theological faculty of the newly opened Chernivtsi University.
However, the fire did not touch the boardroom of the Holy Synod (current Red hall). Its interior is preserved in its original form. The walls of red hall decorated with Chinese silk, wooden ceiling decorated with ornaments, parquet floors and red beech, oak and lime green. On one of the walls of a huge Venetian mirror. Created by old technology, they comprise five layers of silver.
Seminary Church of the Three Hierarchs
Horseshoe-shaped Seminary building surrounded on three sides by the Church of the Three Hierarchs. The first stone in the Foundation of the temple was laid by the Bishop Yevhen Hakman in April 1867, On its interior is the work of a few specialists of high level. The Church was painted by the artist-Professor from Vienna, Karl Jobst. His hands belong tempera paintings of biblical scenes. Thanks to the wonderful acoustics in the Church were willing to come to listen to the service of the Chernivtsi admirers of Church music, which now again have such an opportunity.